top of page

Video Game Music Compilation 37


Oh boy oh boy, it's another VGMC! I've actually covered some must from the OSTs from which these pieces of music are from, so I can guarantee a good one.

Flow - Fez

This modest piece is one that is very repetitive at times, using short but catchy tunes to keep interest. It's uncanny way of using many layers is entrancing at times. Each instrument is doing it's own things, with not many seeming to go with the main tune. It adds to the sense of busyness. Nothing takes away from each tune, but does it's own thing. It's a weird flavor for music that I don't see too much of.

Lamprey - Rogue Legacy

Starting off with a fast paced drum and some sweet chip-tune, it was quick to dive into an epic melody of, again fast paced, guitar. The transition is so entrancing and adds a sort of weight to the atmosphere of the fight at hand. The melodies will pull you right a long for the ride, with that transition being so smooth you wouldn't think the game tried to change music out from under you. The atmosphere generated by both the chip-tune segment and the guitar segment work so well together.

Battlefield's Awakening - Etrian Adyssey Untold: The Millennium Girl

This game is just known for it's epic rock orchestra. The symphony of string instruments works so well with the guitars and drums, and the trumpets? Perfect. The core melody is strong and entrancing, pulling you into the piece further so that the support of the rock-orchestra combo really shines. The feeling of journey, energy, excitement, and odd serenity at times make this piece the piece that will always feel unique to me.

Boo! Haunted House - AVGN Adventures

The sheer amount of epicness oozing from every note in this is astounding. There are parts to make you uneasy and a tad bit spooked, parts to add weight and a more serious vibe, and then parts to ramp up the pace and get a little crazy in the epic direction of things. This game always had such an amazing chip-tune sound track, which is why VGMC 2 was about it, which is why I'm surprised that 1) I missed this piece, and 2) It took so for me to add it to the VGMCs.

Hiatus - Pause Ahead

This is different from all the other music in the game. For starters, it's a lot happier. It's bustling with energy and catchy melodies. It's by my man Bill Kiley, so the chip-tune style is the same at the majority of the tracks in this game, but it's atmosphere is more jovial and less serious than that of all the others. It's multitude of crazy chip-tune rifts add a roughness to the whole thing, shaping the atmosphere in a similar fashion. I used to not care about this theme to much (then again I never heard too much of it because I was always so quick to jump into the game), but now that I listen through it I can finally say that I enjoy it.

Well there you go! VGM for everybody!

Aww Yeah!

 

I do lots of writing, but also dabble in videos.

 

I write about whatever I want, but it's mostly games.

 

Also, excellent taste in VGM.

Follow me:
  • Facebook Globe
  • Twitter Globe
  • Google+ Globe
  • YouTube Globe
bottom of page