top of page

Video Game Music Compilation 36


Y'all know how I do these things. No select theme this time, just raw VGM, so lets go!

Forest Battle 2 - StarBound

Using a wide variety of instruments, this song has got a lot going on at once. The core of everything is this orchestra, which I think creates the most perfect down-to-Earth feeling in a game about alien planets. The technological side of things is very much represented, with loads of beeps, boops, and electronic rifts. The cohesion of both the technological side as well as the more Earthly orchestra is surprisingly well done. It's very well composed and instills a sense of grandeur and epicness to the entire atmosphere.

Sakura's Theme - Street Fighter IV

This is another piece with both an electronic beat and an orchestra where they work so well together. The pianos, flutes, and violins work so well with all of the electronic rifts. It's got such an emotion striking set of melodies to it that you just kinda have to let yourself get carried away with it. It has a serious yet innocent tone to it, with the serious parts done with a lot of longer notes while the innocence it portrayed via the more upbeat vibe of the quicker parts.

Together We Ride - SSBB(Fire Emblem)

Oh man. I think I actually went over the original version of this song in the past but I think that this remix is so good that I can write about it again. It's full orchestra makes it feel very triumphant and exciting. It's either really fast with its pace to make things hyped or it's kinda slow to add emphasis on the moments of triumph. The main melody of trumpets is so beautiful and catchy that it's practically the entire piece for me. It's still got great pianos, violins, drums, and just about everything else!

Ayla Killing Spree - Awesomenauts

This is the most upbeat song I've heard in a long time. It's got a prominent series of vocals saying stuff like "Lets go!" and "gonna wreck this party" to just hype up the mood. It's array of "instruments" ranges from a guitar to tons of electronic rifts to a chorus saying "la la lala". It's the happy-go-lucky I've come to expect from the music in this game. It fills the atmosphere with so much energy that it practically explodes with it. It's loud and bumping! Always throws a smile on my face!

Title Theme - Myth: History in the Making

Being one of the most amazing pieces of music I've listened to in almost forever, it's no wonder I saved this for last. There are many different melodies, each one having it's own special soul to it. It does all of that while still remaining consistent, mind you. It may be a different melody, but it still fits with the other ones. It's masterful composition leads to such catchy and memorable moments. I'd easily say that this is the best piece of chip tune I've ever heard to this date.

Well, there you have it. Five amazing pieces of VGM for your listening pleasure.

Aww Yeah!

 

I do lots of writing, but also dabble in videos.

 

I write about whatever I want, but it's mostly games.

 

Also, excellent taste in VGM.

Follow me:
  • Facebook Globe
  • Twitter Globe
  • Google+ Globe
  • YouTube Globe
bottom of page