top of page

Video Game Music Compilation 26

Aw yeah. I'm here, once again, to show you ladies and gentlemen some more vidja game music. No theme or specific game this time, just a handful of random but great pieces that I came across. These all stuck out to me, and that's why I've decided to describe them that best I can. So, whiteout further ado, here is the 26th Video Game Music Compilation.

Whirlwind - Shinobi III

This is a piece that provides an epic feeling without packing an over-abundance of energy. It's got a strong central melody to carry you through the journey it's atmosphere creates. The backup instruments do well to add just enough energy to where it doesn't feel as solemn as it would otherwise. The piece isn't exactly slow, just calm and precise with it's notes, just like I shinobi would have it. The entire piece represents the journey of a shinobi pretty well, if I do say so myself.

Isaac's Battle Theme - Golden Sun

Being action-packed, this theme doesn't miss a note when delivering it's fast-paced melodies. It's a great theme to get you pumped for a fight, especially with all the energy that's jam-packed into the theme with all the different things going all all the time. It feels very triumphant and full of adventure. Although there is quite a bit going on at once, the main melody always remains on top of all the chaotic action. Despite all the complexity to the things going on, it's that strong melody that keeps this theme from being too repetitive.

Death Screen Music - Gears of War 2

Now lets look at a theme that goes a much more depressing route with it's emotions. This tune is very conservative with the instruments that it uses. There are maybe two pianos, and some violins in the background. It's got a good placement in the game, playing durring the death screen. It's heavy with sorrow and depression, as if the weight of the whole war is pressing down upon you, forcing you to break under it's pressure. It's a tad bit overwhelming with these emotions, forcing me to restart and leave the death screen as fast as I can so I can continue playing without tears blocking my vision.

Flower Garden - Yoshi's Island

Going in the completely opposite direction, this song is a piece of simple, laid-back joy. It's highly addictive and adorable melodies fit the rest of the game perfectly. It's like a waterfall of serene happiness just calmly washing over you. It's the perfect piece to play when just frolicking in a meadow. It's choice of instruments are innocent, child-like, and because of that it's also a fitting piece for this game.

Amis Abyss - Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze

This song is a very calm and serene piece, just filled with an adventurous spirit to match. It's usage of the piano, flute, and even what I believe to be a harmonica is phenomenal. The background music is full of string instruments, miscellaneous beats, and just random sounds to add a unique style of energy. It's strong melodies are beautiful, entrancing, and catchy. It even has a style of echo effect that does a grand bit of help towards making the piece represent the oceanic deep.

So yeah, I hope you enjoyed the wide variety of tracks played here, because it was fun writing about them.

Aww Yeah!

 

I do lots of writing, but also dabble in videos.

 

I write about whatever I want, but it's mostly games.

 

Also, excellent taste in VGM.

Follow me:
  • Facebook Globe
  • Twitter Globe
  • Google+ Globe
  • YouTube Globe
bottom of page